LISTEN: The Opera Comic – ‘Fantasise!’

Leeds-based indie quintet The Opera Comic continue to shape eccentrics and artistry into indie pop delights with new single, ‘Fantasise!’, losing us in fantasy, and removing us from reality.

‘Fantasise!’ captures romanticism personal and poetic, as Luke Thompson’s near-narrative vocals cut the frontman a distorted protagonist, trapped between fiction and the real, as he calls out his dreams and intentions, unlocking a lyrical discourse of archaic condition.

The Opera Comic’s contemporary sonic concoctions of verse conjure the classical form of times gone by, all the while lacing far more than an afterthought of modern melodics, as Mitch Thompson (guitar) and Jack Mattison (synth) string and key ostinato oscillation to boggle the mind.

“Let’s disappear in space and time…visit me inside my mind.” The chorus cries a spiral staircase of synthesised descent, underpinned by ever-set firm drums and bass, yet aggressively pushed by six fuzzing strings.

‘Fantasise!’ bites harder than previous releases from The Opera Comic, revealing a grittier tone, but keeping committed to luring us into the crazed circus spiral of convention-shattering pop.

The new single ‘Fantasise!’ is out now – and available on iTunes here.

Catch The Opera Comic live at the following dates:

4th November – Gullivers, Manchester
4th December – The Hope and Ruin, Brighton
16th December – The Lending Room, Leeds

Find The Opera Comic on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.