Song of the Week

SONG OF THE WEEK: Fenne Lily – ‘What’s Good’

Bristol based singer-songwriter Fenne Lily has been far from idle over the last year, closing 2016 with a special one-off support slot for Lucy Rose as well as embarking on her first UK headline tour. In addition to the flurry of live activity, Lily released ‘What’s Good’ and now we’ve been treated to a brand-new promo video with a cut for the latest single.

‘What’s Good’ follows on from previous releases ‘Bud’ and ‘Top to Toe,’ which accrued a staggering 20 million Spotify streams collectively – quite the feat for an unsigned artist. The track was self-released back in March, but the premiere of her new music video allows fans to take a closer listen at the heart-on-sleeve honesty Lily conveys.

The song itself is driven by a raw emotional stridency that comes to the fore in the pre-chorus with thoughtful lyrics: “And I know what I want/ But I know what I’ll lose”. Setting the undertone for a one-sided romantic narrative, the song eases into a soothing synthesis with Lily’s vocals melting into a lullaby-style soundscape created by a harmonic acoustic guitar.

Naturally, the promo video – filmed by Theo Watkins and Jamie Harding of Old Rope Films – follows a back to basics scene that’s indicative of the sensitively-produced hypnotic beat.

Speaking about the visual concept for the video, Lily explains: “The idea behind the sportswear aesthetic was to visually reflect the feeling of something one sided. ‘What’s Good’ is about the loneliness of realising you want somebody more than they want you; of playing by someone else’s rules. We wanted the video to articulate that feeling of isolation and powerlessness by playing ‘team’ sports alone.”

‘What’s Good’ is set to be followed by new material in late 2017. If you want to catch Lily live this year, check out her tour dates below.

The single ‘What’s Good’ is released now, and available on all streaming services and online retailers.

FENNE LILY LIVE DATES:

Sun 30 Jul – Rosenfelspark, Lörrach
Sun 3 Sep – Moseley Folk Festival
Wed 20 Sep – Lido, Berlin
Thu 21 Sep – Kulturkirche, Cologne
Fri 22 Sep – Reeperbahn Festival
Wed Oct 4 – Henry Tudor House, Shrewsbury
Thu Oct 5 – The Lantern, Bristol
Fri Oct 6 – Band on The Wall, Manchester
Sat Oct 7 – Buyers Club, Liverpool
Sun Oct 8 – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
Tue Oct 10 – CCA, Glasgow
Wed Oct 11 – Cluny 2, Newcastle
Thu Oct 12 – Cecil Sharp House, London

Photo Credit: Carl Osbourn

Find Fenne Lily on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply