Track of the Day

TRACK OF THE DAY: Underwater Boys – ‘Everyone You Know’

Reliable south-coast hit factory Cannibal Hymns have pulled another one out of the bag with this one, the debut single from Underwater Boys, ‘Everyone You Know‘.

If ever a band’s name gave an apt foreshadowing of their sound, it’s these guys – submarine-psych guitars carry the tune as it bobs along, beneath waves of Kevin Parker-esque vocals, courtesy of singer Tom Klar. Brother Nick provides the ethereal soundscapes, nodding toward the likes of Mac Demarco, Beach House or The Magic Gang.

Belying the blissed-out vibes of the sonics, the thematic material at the centre of the track’s meaning is a few shades darker. Lyrical themes of mental illness, existential dread and malaise are tackled; herein lies the tonal juxtaposition at the heart of their music. Heavy themes are counterbalanced by the lightness in the music, this creates a sense of acknowledgement at one’s vulnerability, and the hope that comes with this acceptance in trying to get better.

The debut single ‘Everyone You Know’ is out now via Cannibal Hymns – and available to Stream / Purchase here. The band will also be headlining London’s Sebright Arms on 11th October 2017.

Find Underwater Boys on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.